Blank Menu

Tulsa Shock Achievements

The Tulsa Shock has gone through a lot of changes and challenges since their beginning as the Detroit Shock in 1998.

They have had some ups and downs as a team with adjustments being made to the roster and the coaching staff on multiple occasions and have even been relocated from their original location in Detroit to their current location in Tulsa, Arizona.

Yet, through all of their transitions and struggles, the Tulsa Shock has proved themselves to be a team to be reckoned with. Their toughness and passion to never give up shows in their record for more than a decade and they have a promising future as a team.

The Tulsa Shock has been the underdog at multiple times in past seasons and have come out of the pack as the unexpected victor. Many times, it looked like the Tulsa Shock had no chance of winning, but only surprising everyone with the team’s tenacity and drive.

They have won four conference titles in 2003, 2006, 2007, and 2008. Not only that, but they have also won three championships in 2003, 2006, and 2008. The team, being an expansion franchise, was the first one to win in a WNBA championship.


Bill Laimbeer


The Tulsa Shock has had great success with their coach from 2002 to 2009, Bill Laimbeer. With his leadership, they were able to win their first championship in 2003. That year, Laimbeer was awarded Coach of the Year by the WNBA for his great achievement with the team. He then helped the Shock win three more championships and develop as a team into a stronger and fiercer contender. He has left the team and has been replaced in 2010 by Nolan Richardson.


All Star Players


The Tulsa Shock has had multiple players awarded as All-Stars. In 1999 Sandy Brondello was chosen from the team to play in the WNBA’s very first All-Star game. Wendy Palmer of North Carolina was chosen as an All-Star from the team in 2000.

The next players chosen was in 2003—Swin Cash, Cheryl Ford, and Deanna Nolan. They were strong players on the team, being selected as All-Stars for multiple years in a row with the addition of Kansas native Ruth Riley in 2005, and Ohio native Katie Smith in 2006. Kara Braxton was also nominated 2007 along with Cheryl Ford and Deanna Nolan. Shooting guard Katie Smith was the only All-Star nominee in 2009.


Return from Tulsa Shock Achievements to Tulsa Shock

Return from Tulsa Shock Achievements to Best Basketball Tips