Blank Menu

Vaqueros de Bayamon

Vaqueros de Bayamon is dominating BSN having won 14 Championship titles

The team won their very first Championship title way in the year 1933 when they are coached by OnofreCarballeira. After not winning the title in 1934, they regained the title under the same coach in 1935.

They did not win the Championship title for almost 4 decades. During this time, Atléticos de San Germán is dominating the court. They made their grand return in 1967 after landing on first place under the supervision of coaches FufiSantori and Roy Rubbins. Art Loche then coached Vaqueros which became the champions under his supervision in the years 1969 and 1971. Santori now paired by Tom Nissalke then took over in 1972 when the team won another championship title.

The victories of the team continued for another 3 consecutive years (1973, 1974, and 1975). Del Harris solely coached the team in 1973 and 1974 and then paired with Nissalke in 1975. The next championship title was gained in 1981 when the team was coached by Gene Bartow and Robert Corn.

They won another trophy in 1988 under Coach Robert Corn. Again, they were victorious in 2 consecutive championship titles in 1995 and 1996 under Coach Flor Melendez. After 12 years, Vaqueros de Bayamon won their latest Championship title in 2009 under the popular Coach Julio Toro.

Coach Julio Toro

Coach Atty.Julio Toro is one of the most successful coaches in the history of Puerto Rican professional basketball. Toro won over 11 championships and lost 1. His first victory was in 1980 with Mets de Guaynabo. Another victory was earned by Mets in 1982. Jose Agosto,Fico Lopez,Mario Morales,Jose Santos,Jose Sosa,Danny Rodriguez, Gustavo Santos and Papiro Leon were among his players in Mets.He also coached Indios de Canovanas and won in 1984. He again coached the Mets in 1989 wherein they won defeating Ponce Lions in seven games.

In the early 90’s, he was hired as coach by Carabobo in Venezuelan professional basketball league. Carabobo won titles under him. Due to his accomplishments, Toro was assigned to be the coach of Venezuela’s National Team. He led Congrejeros de Santurce to victory for 4 consecutive years (1998 to 2001) and another victory in 2003 with players Carlos Arroyo and Jose Ortiz.

Toro was the head coach of the Puerto Rican National Basketball Team in 1999 up to 2006. He made history at the 2004 Olympic in Athens, Greece since he is the first non-Soviet coach to win over United States in an Olympic competition, and the first coach to beat the American team composing of NBA players in the Olympics. He won over U.S. with a score 92-73, the greatest points loss by US in collegiate or professional category in International Basketball’s history as of 2007.

He was, undoubtedly, the “philosopher of basketball”-just what the Vaqueros de Bayamon needed to regain the championship title after 12 years. As foretold, the Vaqueros won the 2009 championship title under his supervision. Julio Toro is currently the coach of the team in 2011 season of BSN league.


Return from Vaqueros de Bayamon to Puerto Rican Basketball

Return from Vaqueros de Bayamon to Best Basketball Tips