Blank Menu

Russian Basketball Super League

Russia is just one of those countries that passionately loves basketball.
Basketball is one of the favorite games to be played and watched in Russia, thus it is impossible for a country, especially Russia, not to have a national league. National leagues promote basketball’s popularity in the country, but it is not just basketball’s popularity that the leagues promote, they also encourage the young ones to play basketball.

The basketball leagues opens a lot of doors for opportunities. Basketball players in the leagues may be chosen to be part of the Russian national basketball team, which is really a great privilage. One of the top leagues in Russia is the Russian Basketball Super League.

The Russian Basketball Super League was the number one Russian league of professional basketball. The Russian Basketball Super League is divided into two, the Russian Basketball Superleague A and the Russian Basketball Superleague B.

Last season, 2009-2010, the Superleague A had 9 participating teams while the Superleague B had 13 participating teams. The Super League was governed by the Russian Basketball Federation up until 2010, but starting in the season 2010-2011 the Russian Super League will be governed by the Professional Basketball League because the Superleague A and the Superleague B will be united into a single league that serves as the 2nd tier of Russian Basketball.

There will be 11 teams or clubs that will particpate in the season 2010-2011.

The Superleague A teams

The teams that participated in the Superleague A in the season 2009-2010 are the following: CSKA Moscow, Khimki Moscow Region, UNICS Kazan, Spartak Saint Petersburg, Triumph Lyubertsy, Dynamo Moscow, Lokomotiv Kuban, Enisey Krasnoyarsk, and the Krasnye Krylya Samara.

better shooting

In the Superleague season 2010-2011, the team that will participate will be: Spartak Primorje Vladivostok, Irkut Irkutsk, Severstal Cherepovets, Ruskon-Mordiva Saransk, Soyuz Zarechny, TEMP-SUMZ Revda, Universitet Yugra Surgut, Sibirtelecom Lokomotiv Novosibirsk, Ryazan, Metallurg-Universitet Magnitogorsk, Ural Yekaterinburg.

The Russian Superleague Champions

Since the league started in 1992, there have been eighteen games in total. Out of these eighteen games, the CSKA Moscow won all the sixteen championship games. The other team that won the two championship is the Ural Great Perm in the year 2001 and 2002.

CSKA Moscow

The CSKA Moscow is a professional basketball team formed in 1924, based in Moscow, Russia, because of the team’s past affiliation with the Soviet Army, the CSKA Moscow is sometimes called the “Red Army”. The CSKA Moscow participates in different national basketball competitions, such as the PBL, Euroleague, VTB United League, and Russian Cup.

CSKA Moscow Championships

The CSKA Moscow won a total of 24 USSR Championships, 17 Russian Championships, 3 USSR Cups in the year 1972, 1973 and 1982, 4 Russian Cup Championships in the year 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2010, 6 Euroleague Championships in the year 1961, 1963, 1969, 1971, 2006, and 2008, 1 Triple Crown in the year 2001, 1 North European Championships in the year 2000 and 2 United Championships.

The CSKA Moscow team aslo had a total of 11 appearances in the Euroleague Finals, 10 appearances in the Euroleague Final Four.


Return from Russian Basketball Super League to Russian Basketball

Return from Russian Basketball Super League to Best Basketball Tips