Blank Menu

Puerto Rico National Basketball Teams

National Basketball league of Puerto Rico or BSN (Baloncesto Superior Nacional)is the main Basketball League in the country established in 1929.

There are 9 leagues composing the BSN this 2011 season which will start in May 31. The basketball teams playing this season are mainly composed by the players in Puerto Rico men’s national basketball team.

Capitanes de Arecibo or in English, “Arecibo Captains” is one of the team in BSN. When the team is playing in the Premier Basketball League or PBL they use the name Capitanes de Puerto Rico. The team won 4 championship titles in the years 1959. 2005, 2008, and 2010 and is currently coached by David Rosario.

The Vaqueros de Bayamón is another team in BSN. The team is based in Bayamon, Puerto Rico and is considered as a professional basketball team. Currently, the team is dominating the league since they won over 14 championship titles in the years 1933, 1935, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1981, 1988, 1995, 1996, and 2009. The team is currently coached by Julio Toro, the former coach of Cangrejeros de Santurce.

Another team is the Criollos de Caguas “Caguas Creoles”. Theteam is based in Caguas, Puerto The team began to play in 1976 season joining their baseball team. Criollosare settling for moderate success unlike their counterpart in baseball which is the Criollos of baseball team.

The Mets de Guaynabo “Guaynabo Mets” moved in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico before the1976 season. Their head coach is Raymond Dalmauand won 3 championships.

Humacao is a city in Puerto Rico and is famous for a greasy snack food which is made of rice flour with cheese at the center. The Basketball team which is foundedin 2005 in Humacao is called the Grises basketball team or “HumacaoGrays”.

Mayaguez is a place in Puerto Rico where the Central American and Carribean Games were held last 2010. The BSN professional basketball team, Indios de Mayaguez is named after after the indian heritage of the city.

Quebradillas is the municipality of Puerto Rico. The municipality is known before as a Pirates Hideout. The Piratas de Quebradillas or the “Quebradillas Pirates” is a part of the BSN which is of course a Puerto Rican team. It is one of the original teams in the league since it is founded in 1930. The team won 4 championships during the 1970s.
Atleticos de San Germán “San German Athletics” or La Cuna del Baloncesto en Puerto Rico is based in San German, Puerto Rico and is a team in BSN basketball team. San German won 14 championships in the years 1932, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1942, 1943, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1985, 1991, 1994, and 1997.

The Cangrejeros de Santurce “Santurce Crabbers” are from Santurce area of San Juan, Puerto Rico. The team won the 2007 BSN Championship, beating the Capitanes de Arecibo in a 7-game series.

The Leones de Ponce or “Ponce lions” have won 12 championships in the years 1952, 1954, 1960, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1990, 1992, 1993, 2002, and 2004. The team is based in Ponce, Puerto Rico. The team is officially not playing in 2011 season since the selling of the team has been unsuccessful. This will be the first time for the Lions in over 60 years. Also, Gigantes de Carolina will not be able to play this season.


Return from Puerto Rico National Basketball Teams to Puerto Rican Basketball

Return from Puerto Rico National Basketball Teams to Best Basketball Tips