Blank Menu

Duke Blue Devils Basketball

The Duke Blue Devils basketball team is the official team that represent the Duke University.

They are one of the premier and prominent college program in the world of college basketball. In the history of college basketball, Duke Blue Devils is the fourth winningest programs of all-time. Mike Krzyzewski brought great success for the Blue Devils for over 30 years. They are part of the Atlantic Coast Conference in NCAA Division I. Their home arena is Cameroon Indoor Stadium that holds 9,314 seats.

They have acquired 4 NCAA titles and it is the fifth in all-time. They appeared in 10 championship games which is second in all-time. They also had appeared in the Final Four fifteen times, second in all-time. They have the record of having the highest winning percentage in the NCAA Tournament with .750 which is an NCAA-best.

They have a total of 71 players that have been drafted in the NBA and 11 players named as the National Player of the Year. Duke has more former players on the NBA compared to any other schools or university. They won 18 Atlantic Coast Conference tournament championships and it is the most number in the history.



The game of basketball was introduced to Trinity in 1906 by Wilbur Wade Card. The first title acquired by the Trinity was in 1920. They defeated the North Carolina State College of Agriculture and Engineering or now known as NC State in the state championship. Later on, the Trinity College became Duke University.

Bill Werber is the Duke’s first All-American in basketball, the class of 1930. Dick Groat was the first Duke to be the National Player of the Year . Duke become a part of the Atlantic Coast Conference and left the Southern Conference in 1953. Their first Final Four appearance was in 1963, under Vic Bubas but lost to Loyola in the semifinal.

In the next season, Duke reached the national championship game but lost to the Bruins.They won their 1000th game in 1974, which made them the eighth school in the NCAA to win a thousand game or more.In 1978, the Blue Devils under Coach Bill Foster won the conference tournament and reached the NCAA Championship game. They lost against the Kentucky wildcats.

Mike Krzyzewski became the head coach on 1980, he was very successful in handling the team. With the team under Coach Krzyzewski, they reached the final four in the years 1986, 1988 to 1992, 1994, 1999, 2001, 2004 and 2010.

The Duke won over the UNLV Running Rebels in the Final Four in 1991 and moved on to defeat the Kansas to win their first NCAA championship. They had a team roster with Christian Laettner, Bobby Hurley, Thomas Hill and Grant Hill. They moved on in the next season to defeat the Michigan to win its secon NCAA title. In 2001, they won their third NCAA Championship by defeating the Arizona.

Later that year, Coach K was inducted in the Basketball Hall of Fame. Just last April 5,2010, they won their fourth NCAA title by winning over Butler.



Return from Duke Blue Devils Basketball to College Basketball

Return from Duke Blue Devils Basketball to Best Basketball Tips